I am a Christian . . .

Lonely Woman. . . but I’m not always happy and worry-free.

I have much to be thankful for. And, of course, it helps to focus on those things and on the good that I can see around me if I take the time to look, but sometimes the darkness is too insidious to ignore.

The death of comic actor Robin Williams . . .

The slaughter of men, women, and children simply because of their nationality and/or faith . . .

A sense of hopelessness, even among young people with their lives before them . . .

Yes, sometimes the darkness seems to close in from all sides.

Depression, despair, and despondency are realities of life – even for the Christian, but digging into God’s Word (or even reading just a few uplifting verses) and accepting His invitation to commune with Him in prayer reminds us there is Light when all we can see is darkness.

Because I’m a Christian, I believe in Reality with a capital “r.” I believe in the Eternal. I believe that because God commanded me to keep my eyes on the Founder and Perfecter of my faith – His Son, Jesus Christ – He will enable me to do so (Hebrews 12:2). I believe what it says in Ephesians 2, that in some way that only He fully understands, I am already seated in the heavenlies with Christ.

Now, does that mean I’m evidence of the cliche that says “She’s so heavenly minded, she’s no earthly good”?

I certainly hope not.

I likely have 10, 20, 30 more years – maybe even more – to walk this earth. While I do so, I have two directives: 1) to bring God honour and glory and 2) to bless those He brings into my life

So, if I’m going to shine light in the darkness, I have to look into it long enough to see those who are wandering around with no sense of which way to go. Plus, I must do my part to allow God’s light to shine through me, a light that will guide me – and by extension, those with whom I come in contact – out of the darkness. The Bible speaks of the foolishness of hiding our light under a basket. I do not want to be guilty of doing so.

Sidebar – No matter how many times I’ve read that verse, it has never struck me before that light isn’t noticeable when it’s surrounded by light, only when it shines in the darkness. Hm, food for thought!

I must allow myself to weep with those who weep (Romans 12:15) As I more fully get to know the God of All Comfort, I can bring that comfort to others.

As I have opportunity, I must be deliberate in my endeavours to share His love. (See my post “What Can I Do?”.)

I saw the following on Facebook. I want to be this kind of friend. How about you?

“Friends pick us up when we fall down, and if they can’t pick us up, they lie down and listen for a while.”

4 thoughts on “I am a Christian . . .

  1. I think that those who have walked in darkness and come out the other side can do a lot to help those who are walking in darkness themselves. You know what it’s like. You’ve been there. You know what it feels like. You don’t even have to say anything, you know that sometimes the walker in the dark simply needs someone to listen and understand.
    What I’ve learned and I’m trying to live is to accept the feelings of sadness or frustration or confusion or feeling lost. Sitting with them is one way to move through them, and in the stillness of the sitting, there is a small voice that guides me out then other side.
    Slowing down enough to just sit, though, that’s a challenge in our western society. 🙂

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read this post, Lisa, and especially, thank you for sharing your insights. Truly being still (without so much as the constant bombardment of TV or our social networks) is definitely a challenge – but needed.

Leave a Reply

