Welcome Author Catherine West

I want to welcome Cathy West to my blog today. I am currently re-reading her first novel and am enjoying it even more than I did the first time. The revised version is now available and you can get Yesterday’s Tomorrow here.

Welcome, Cathy. Your protagonist is a reporter. Have you ever entertained ideas of becoming a war correspondent—or a Catherine Westreporter of any kind?

I worked a couple summers as a junior reporter at our local newspaper, but that’s as far as I got in the journalism world. I soon decided I would rather write fiction than go chasing down stories and interviewing people. But I think the war correspondent aspect is pretty fascinating.

Agreed, though I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t want to put myself into the middle of a hostile situation intentionally.

And why did you choose to re-release this, your first novel?

We made the decision based on various reasons, but I’m pretty excited about dipping my toes in the Indie waters. Yesterday’s Tomorrow was pretty well-received the first time around, so we’re hoping to find a whole lot of new readers this time as well.

I’m sure it will do well. This version is not exactly the same as the original. Can you give us a sneak peak at what’s different?

No.  Haha. This time we did an extensive edit on the story, so the writing is tighter, the plot more concise, and I think it all flows better. No spoilers!

I try not to include spoilers in the reviews I write. I want to entice readers to discover wonderful new books without . . . well . . . without spoiling the experience.

So, Cathy, would you say you write character-driven or a plot-driven books? Which do you look for in the novels you read?

Definitely character-driven. I usually create stories around the characters I come up with so the plot manifests organically out of their journey. They are usually pretty headstrong people with plenty of problems to work through. I enjoy reading similar novels, where the characters’ lives are far from perfect and they have various trials and challenges to work through. I like books that make me think and wonder how I would react in such situations.

And since I’m relationship-driven in all aspects of life, that’s probably one reason I enjoy your books.

So, if you weren’t writing novels, what do you think you would do to fill your days?

Watch soap operas and eat a ton of chocolate.  Seriously, I don’t know what I’d do. I can’t imagine doing anything else. I love writing so much and even though it’s challenging, I truly believe it’s what I’m meant to do.

I love reading about authors who can’t imagine doing anything else. It makes me ask myself, “Am I compelled to write or is it just something I do?” My conclusion is that I’m compelled to communicate and writing is one more way I can do that.

YesterdaysTomorrowLastly, is there anything else you would like to share with my readers—except of course to invite them to purchase Yesterday’s Tomorrow?

Well, sure, buy the book! Ha! But seriously, I hope you do and I hope you love the story as much as I loved writing it. It’s probably still my favorite book. I love connecting with my readers, so please reach out and say hi.

Catherine West is an award-winning author who writes stories of hope and healing from her island home in Bermuda. Her first novel, Yesterday’s Tomorrow, released in 2011 and won the INSPY for Romance, a Silver Medal in the Reader’s Favorite Awards, and was a finalist in the Grace Awards. Catherine’s second novel, Hidden in the Heart, released in September 2012, was long listed in the 2012 INSPY’s and was a finalist in the 2013 Grace Awards.

When she’s not at the computer working on her next story, you can find her taking her border collie for long walks or tending to her roses and orchids. She and her husband have two grown children. Catherine is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and Romance Writers of America, and is represented by Rachelle Gardner of Books & Such Literary. Catherine loves to connect with her readers and can be reached at Catherine@catherinejwest.com

Yesterday’s Tomorrow on Amazon

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/CatherineJWest

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Catherine-West/e/B004RWZUHK/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Twitter – https://twitter.com/cathwest

GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4715219.Catherine_West

Pinterest – http://www.pinterest.com/cathwest/

Google + – https://plus.google.com/u/0/108781711729974539211/posts

One thought on “Welcome Author Catherine West

Leave a Reply

