Twenty-Fourteen Winds Down

IMG_0716It’s here! It’s here! It’s here!

Autumn is absolutely, positively my favourite season.

Yesterday I took our poochie for a half hour walk around a lovely old part of town.

The streets are quiet. The houses are lovely. The people are friendly.

But those are not the things that warmed my heart and brought a smile to my face.

No . . . it was the maple trees. So, so beautiful. Even the fallen leaves still retained their colour . . . though they had started to dry out, making for the wonderful rustle and crunch of leaves underfoot. And the smell . . . a.ma.zing!

The fall awakens all my senses . . . and I LOVE IT!

It’s a great time to jump into Round 4 of A Round of Words in 80 Days. I’m energized and ready to go.

ROW LogoSo, just whats on the agenda for the next 80 days?

Writing Goals

Morning Pages . . . Monday-Friday (three pages of unblocking my creativity as close to first thing in the morning as possible)

As a participant in in OctPoWriMo, I will be writing 31 poems this month. I missed the kick-off, so I best get at it. (What a great way to get back into the habit of posting here!)

Next month I will be participating in PiBoIdMo. I plan to come up with 30 new ideas for picture books and write at least four new stories.

I have begun compiling a file of my writing prompts and hope to make it available as an ebook.

I am also working on a book of devotionals based on the gospel of John. It’s going to take quite awhile to get it together, but I hope to make significant headway before the end of the year.

I also have my ongoing projects of writing four seniors’ living articles per month and at least six guest blog posts.

Editing Goals

I am copyediting one project (and making suggestions on another) and hope to get several more in the near future.

Submission/Publication Goals

I plan to submit 6-12 picture book manuscripts by the end of Round 4.

I would love to have my ebook of writing prompts available by the end of the year. Since this will be my first foray into ebook publication, we’ll see how it goes.

Reading Goals

So, here are the novels I have on the go right now . . .

Laura Jackson’s Worth the Wait

Rachel Phifer’s The Language of Sparrows

Janet Sketchley’s Secrets and Lies (pre-published)

Rachel Starr Thomson’s Exile

Cathy West’s Yesterday’s Tomorrow (rev)

. . . and the nonfiction books . . .

Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way

Kathy Ide’s Proofreading Secrets of Best-Selling Authors

Erin MacPherson’s The Christian Mama’s Guide to Having a Baby

Larry and Kathy Miller’s Never Ever Be the Same

And yes, I would like to complete them all before the end of the year.

Fitness Goals

30 minutes of cardio Monday-Friday

Upper body workout – 2x/wk

Lower body workout – 2x/wk

Continue drinking more water and eating better (It’s coming!)

IMG_0114

Miscellaneous Goals

I wrote this heading before filling in the above categories. I’m thinking, except for a little organization around the house, I won’t add miscellaneous goals this time.

Well, except for taking advantage of Zenfolio’s free 14-day trial photographer’s website. Sigh!

4 thoughts on “Twenty-Fourteen Winds Down

  1. Wow, lots of exciting stuff going on, Steph. I’m curious about how you use morning pages to unblock your creativity. Do you just write whatever comes into your head or do you have some kind of guided process for freeing up your creative brain? I ask because I’ve been struggling lately to reconnect with my playful side & am wondering how other people do it.

    1. It really is just stream of consciousness writing. Whatever comes to mind. As Julia Cameron, the author of “The Artist’s Way” says, “It isn’t art.” If you think it’s a dumb exercise on any given day, that’s what you write. I have uncovered many ideas for blog posts, one or two for guest posts on prayer, and several “ah ha” moments as I learn new things about myself. But none of that was intentional. It just happens. Hopefully your own morning pages will help unblock your creativity too, Sione.

Leave a Reply

