ROW80 Check-In

Writing Goals

Morning Pages . . . Monday-Friday (three pages of unblocking my creativity as close to first thing in the morning as possible)

It’s hit and miss.

As a participant in in OctPoWriMo, I will be writing 31 poems this month. I missed the kick-off, so I best get at it. (What a great way to get back into the habit of posting here!)

So far, so good.

Next month I will be participating in PiBoIdMo. I plan to come up with 30 new ideas for picture books and write at least four new stories.

I have begun compiling a file of my writing prompts and hope to make it available as an ebook.

Sometimes the assembling is almost as challenging as the writing.

I am also working on a book of devotionals based on the gospel of John. It’s going to take quite awhile to get it together, but I hope to make significant headway before the end of the year.

I’m having trouble gaining traction, but it will come.

I also have my ongoing projects of writing four seniors’ living articles per month and at least six guest blog posts.

Looks like I’ll have to write two this coming week, but that’s okay. I’ve written four in one week when necessary.

Editing Goals

I am copyediting one project and hope to get several more in the near future.

I’m on target with this project. So far no word on any others.

Submission/Publication Goals

I plan to submit 6-12 picture book manuscripts by the end of Round 4.

I would love to have my ebook of writing prompts available by the end of the year. Since this will be my first foray into ebook publication, we’ll see how it goes.

*NEW

I’m also thinking of compiling a Life Through the Lens inspirational book featuring my photography.

Reading Goals

So, here are the novels I have on the go right now . . .

Laura Jackson’s Worth the Wait

The further into this book I get, the more I enjoy it.

Rachel Phifer’s The Language of Sparrows

This book grabbed me from the first chapter. I can’t wait to make more headway.

Janet Sketchley’s Secrets and Lies (pre-published)

Hopefully I’ll make some significant headway in the near future. I’d like to get it read quickly so I can write a review.

Rachel Starr Thomson’s Exile

It’s nice to have a fantasy in the mix.

Cathy West’s Yesterday’s Tomorrow (rev.)

I’m finding I’m enjoying re-reading this story. And here I thought I didn’t want to re-read novels.

. . . and the nonfiction books . . .

Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way

I haven’t gotten back into the book, but I am using the journal for my morning pages.

Kathy Ide’s Proofreading Secrets of Best-Selling Authors

I re-read the section on commas a couple of times. The use of this little punctuation mark can be so subjective.

Erin MacPherson’s The Christian Mama’s Guide to Having a Baby

I got very little read this past week.

Larry and Kathy Miller’s Never Ever Be the Same

Now that I’ve fired off my endorsement and the edits are off to the publisher, I’ve slowed down.

And yes, I would like to complete them all before the end of the year.

Fitness Goals

30 minutes of cardio Monday-Friday

Upper body workout – 2x/wk

Lower body workout – 2x/wk

Continue drinking more water and eating better (It’s coming!)

Not a total washout this past week but close to it.

Miscellaneous Goals

I wrote this heading before filling in the above categories. I’m thinking, except for a little organization around the house, I won’t add miscellaneous goals this time.

Well, except for taking advantage of Zenfolio’s free 14-day trial photographer’s website. Sigh!

I think I’ll let this slide for the time being. It’s definitely something I want to dive into in the future, however.

6 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-In

Leave a Reply

