Journeying to Inspiration

Day 15 – Halfway There

IMG_0649

It’s halfway there

But does it know

Halfway across the path

Halfway to becoming delicate and beautiful

I’m halfway there too

(Or more)

I’ve journeyed at least

Halfway through this life

While the caterpillar must focus

On the Now

I’m often tempted to look back

To look ahead

To do anything but

Focus on the Now

Content that I will one day become

All I was created to be

I must accomplish the task that is

Here and Now

Content to learn from the past

Content to anticipate the wonder

That is Journey’s End

“Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus (Philippians 3:12-14 ESV).

Day 14 – Inspiration

IMG_9554

For over three decades

This man has been my inspiration

Sometimes I’ve acknowledged it

Sometimes it has escaped my notice

But there he was

Fulfilling his vow

To love me as Christ loved the church

Selflessly

Wholeheartedly

Ceaselessly

When I didn’t deserve it

When I was hateful and spiteful

Over the years I’ve grown

Grown more in love with this gift

Grown

I trust

To be more of a blessing

To the one who has blessed me beyond measure

With God’s help

From this day forward

I will do him good

All the days of my life

I will inspire him

As he has inspired me

“She does him [her husband] good, and not harm, all the days of her life” (Proverbs 31:12 ESV).

6 thoughts on “Journeying to Inspiration

Leave a Reply

