ROW Check-In

ROW Logo

Round 4 is well underway . . .

Writing Goals

Morning Pages . . . Monday-Friday (three pages of unblocking my creativity as close to first thing in the morning as possible)

I plan to start again tomorrow.

As a participant in in OctPoWriMo, I will be writing 31 poems this month. I missed the kick-off, so I best get at it. (What a great way to get back into the habit of posting here!)

This is the first year I’ve used the prompts . . . at least for the most part. Although I’ve written multiple poems on at least three days, I’m on track to get 31 written this month.

Next month I will be participating in PiBoIdMo. I plan to come up with 30 new ideas for picture books and write at least four new stories.

I’ve already come up with a couple of ideas.

I have begun compiling a file of my writing prompts and hope to make it available as an ebook.

I’ve started the process of copying and pasting. Then comes editing and organizing.

I am also working on a book of devotionals based on the gospel of John. It’s going to take quite awhile to get it together, but I hope to make significant headway before the end of the year.

The plan is to get five devotionals written this week.

I also have my ongoing projects of writing four seniors’ living articles per month and at least six guest blog posts.

I plan to write two articles this week and two articles next.

I write weekly guest posts for Christian Editing Services and Kimberley Payne’s site. – on track

I write monthly posts for Under the Cover of Prayer and InScribe. – on track

I write a guest post for InScribe’s pro blog about once every six weeks. – on track

*NEW

– compilation of fitness tips (ebook)

– compilation of my photos and inspirational thoughts/scripture verses

Editing Goals

I am copyediting one project (and making suggestions on another) and hope to get several more in the near future.

I’ve completed the second read-through/edit of the first project and have made some headway with the other.

Submission/Publication Goals

I plan to submit 6-12 picture book manuscripts by the end of Round 4.

The plan is to submit at least two before PiBoIdMo begins and the rest during November.

I would love to have my ebook of writing prompts available by the end of the year. Since this will be my first foray into ebook publication, we’ll see how it goes.

I’ve got lots to learn before the end of the year. πŸ™‚

*NEW

Enter writing contests and submit piece(s) for publication in one or two anthologies.

I entered four pieces in InScribe’s annual contest and won first place in one category.

I’ve entered two of “Write to Done’s” Flash Fiction Competitions. I didn’t win the first time round, but we’ll see what happens with my second entry.

I’ve entered a Kindergarten story writing contest. (Telling a story in 150 words, now that’s challenging.) Win or not, it was a good exercise.

Reading Goals

So, here are the novels I have on the go right now . . .

Laura Jackson’s Worth the Wait

Rachel Phifer’s The Language of Sparrows

Janet Sketchley’s Secrets and Lies (pre-published) – reading a chapter per day

Rachel Starr Thomson’s Exile

Cathy West’s Yesterday’s Tomorrow (revised) – reading a chapter per day

. . . and the nonfiction books . . .

Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way

Kathy Ide’s Proofreading Secrets of Best-Selling Authors

James Scott Bell’s Self-Publishing Attack! – reading and highlighting regularly (part of that learning curve I mentioned)

Derek Murphy’s How to Write, Format, Publish, Promote Your Book Without Spending Any Money – also part of the learning curve (I’ll dive into this one after completing JSB’s book.)

Erin MacPherson’s The Christian Mama’s Guide to Having a Baby

Larry and Kathy Miller’s Never Ever Be the Same

And yes, I would like to complete them all before the end of the year.

Fitness Goals

30 minutes of cardio Monday-Friday – glad tomorrow starts a new week (hoping this virus takes a hike very soon)

Upper body workout – 2x/wk – time to 1) break out my exercise DVDs and/or put together a routine of my favourite exercises

Lower body workout – 2x/wk – same as above

Continue drinking more water and eating better (It’s coming!) – in the form of caffeine-free herbal teas at this point (It’s getting chilly in the Great White North.)

Miscellaneous Goals

I wrote this heading before filling in the above categories. I’m thinking, except for a little organization around the house, I won’t add miscellaneous goals this time.

My hubby’s on holidays this week. He’s completely reorganized his office/the guest room. It looks great. I s’pose I should help with some of the many other things that need to get done around here.

Well, except for taking advantage of Zenfolio’s free 14-day trial photographer’s website. Sigh!

While this was a bust, Christian Editing Services is starting a stock photography service and I’ve uploaded about 100 photos. Karen really likes them, so I’m excited to see what happens there. Some may even appear on book covers. That would be so cool.

I need to update my website.

I am one of the vendor’s at a local fundraiser in November, so I want to get the site tweaked before the end of the month.

2 thoughts on “ROW Check-In

  1. Wow, you achieved so much this week I want to hang my head in shame! I did have a good excuse though πŸ˜‰ I’ve never heard of PiBoldMo – I must go investigate that right now πŸ™‚ Have a great week, I hope to catch up with you soon.

    1. No need to hang your head. Sometimes I think I should be far more focused. I have what I call the Butterfly or the Oh Shiny Syndrome. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by. Let me know if you sign up for PiBoIdMo. It would be fun to encourage one another along the way.

Leave a Reply

