God’s Fingerprints

I see them all over my life

God’s fingerprints

He gave me

A believing mother

He led me to

Bible College

There I met

My husband of over 30 years

God tapped us on the shoulder

And let us know

It was time to move

So we prepared to do so

Then

We received a call

Asking if we were settled

We had no doubt

This was where He wanted us

(Still is)

With the first of three children in tow

We moved to a small city

I hadn’t even known existed

There He provided

A brand new townhouse

A church family

A readily-available shopping mall

(I didn’t drive)

Jobs for my hubby

The years went by

And still His fingerprints were evident

Income-earning opportunities

While I stayed home

With the kids

Fellow homeschoolers

After years of going it on our own

Eventually

We purchased

A home of our own

But more importantly

Than the outward

Faith

Hope

And love

During the good times

During the hard times

During the heart-in-a-vice times

When I couldn’t breathe

He was the Breath of Life

When my cathedral of faith crumbled

I found myself

Safely on the Firm Foundation

When tomorrow is uncertain

He reminds me

You have Today

And I am with you

I promised

Never to leave you nor forsake you

And I won’t

Your are secure in

My grasp

My fingerprints

Are all over your life

Always have been

Always will be

“Can a mother forget the baby at her breast and have no compassion on the child she has borne? Though she may forget, I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands” (Isaiah 49:15-16 NIV).

8 thoughts on “God’s Fingerprints

  1. Ramona Furst

    God moments galore! A friend reminded me yesterday often He hands us gifts we’re too busy to acknowledge with an attitude, “yeah – whatever”.

    Your writing inspires me. Your words have and will challenge me to end my days with more than a passing “Thank you Lord.”

    El Roi The God who sees and steps in to my life without fail to feed a nourish me.

    He is my manna worth feasting on.

    Ramona

  2. saucyappel

    Thank you Steph for posting this NOW when I needed to be reminded about finding my strength in the Lord. As it is phrased in the KJV: “David encouraged himself in the Lord his God.” 1 Samuel 30.6. As you said. “During the heart-in-a-vise times / When i couldn’t breathe / He was the Breath of Life”. I needed to remember all the times when I couldn’t breath and He gently and firmly said to me: “I’ve got this, don’t fuss; let me handle it.” Exodus 14.14 (paraphrase mine)

Leave a Reply

