The Only Safe Place

IMG_7942

The world is a scary place

A self-evident statement for far too many people

From the battlefields of war

To the horrors of domestic abuse

From “other places”

Where we expect violence

To “here at home”

Where we don’t

Today

In Canada

We were reminded

Ours is not a country

Where bad things

Where scary things

Where unheard of things

Don’t happen

We are members

Of the global community

Where darkness seeks to extinguish the light

Where hatred blinds far too many

Where there are more questions than answers

So

I will dare to ask God to remove the blinders

To show me my role

To remind me

He is the Light

He is Love

He is the Answer

In His presence

Is the only safe place

For my heart

For my mind

For my soul

I love you, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies” (Psalm 18:1-3 ESV).

In honour of Cpl. Nathan Frank Cirillo, whose was killed October 22, 2014, while standing guard at the War Memorial in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. I add my prayers for his friends and family to the many others being raised tonight.

 

4 thoughts on “The Only Safe Place

  1. I had thought to do a post as well – but y[our poem says it all. So well written. Touched me as well. We have to stand strong, believe in our country and in our faith.

Leave a Reply

