October 26 ROW80 Check-In

ROW Logo

Since I only check in once per week, this will be my last October check-in. (Two more months until 2015 . . . seriously?)

Writing Goals

Morning Pages . . . Monday-Friday

I got started again but didn’t hit 15 pages last week.

As a participant in in OctPoWriMo, I will be writing 31 poems this month. I missed the kick-off, so I best get at it. (What a great way to get back into the habit of posting here!)

I’ve got some catching up to do . . . again.

Next month I will be participating in PiBoIdMo. I plan to come up with 30 new ideas for picture books and write at least four new stories.

Registration opened this weekend. It’s now official. 

I have begun compiling a file of my writing prompts and hope to make it available as an ebook.

hope to plan to crack down and make serious headway this week.

I am also working on a book of devotionals based on the gospel of John. It’s going to take quite awhile to get it together, but I hope to make significant headway before the end of the year.

Time to revise this goal. Instead of five devotionals per week, I will write three. (That should be more attainable.)

I also have my ongoing projects of writing four seniors’ living articles per month and at least six guest blog posts.

I’ve written one article and need to come up with three more this week.

I write weekly guest posts for Christian Editing Services and Kimberley Payne’s site. – on track

I write monthly posts for Under the Cover of Prayer.

The lady who compiles the UTCOP posts will no longer be adding new ones, but you can read past posts on her site, He Cares for You.

I write a guest post for InScribe’s pro blog about once every six weeks and a monthly post for their second blog, InScribe Writers Online. – on track

*NEW

– compilation of fitness tips (ebook)

I will give myself this week and next to compile a significant number of writing prompts and tips, and then I will buckle down and make serious headway on this project.

– compilation of my photos and inspirational thoughts/scripture verses

I will do some research and get a good idea about how to proceed with this project by the end of November.

Editing Goals

There are a number of prospects on the horizon. Let’s hope one or two of them pan out.

Submission/Publication Goals

I plan to submit 6-12 picture book manuscripts by the end of Round 4.

will submit two manuscripts this week.

I would love to have my ebook of writing prompts available by the end of the year. Since this will be my first foray into ebook publication, we’ll see how it goes.

I’ve got lots to learn before the end of the year.

*NEW

Enter writing contests and submit piece(s) for publication in an anthology.

Reading Goals

So, here are the novels I have on the go right now . . .

Laura Jackson’s Worth the Wait  – done; time to write the review

Rachel Phifer’s The Language of Sparrows – on hold, but I’m really enjoying it

Janet Sketchley’s Secrets and Lies (pre-published) – reading a chapter per day (M-F)

Rachel Starr Thomson’s Exile – I’m in the middle of a chapter, so I want to complete it before putting it on hold.

Cathy West’s Yesterday’s Tomorrow (revised) – reading a chapter per day (M-F)

. . . and the nonfiction books . . .

Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way

Kathy Ide’s Proofreading Secrets of Best-Selling Authors

James Scott Bell’s Self-Publishing Attack! – reading and highlighting regularly (part of that learning curve I mentioned)

Derek Murphy’s How to Write, Format, Publish, Promote Your Book Without Spending Any Money – also part of the learning curve (I’ll dive into this one after completing JSB’s book.)

Erin MacPherson’s The Christian Mama’s Guide to Having a Baby – I have to crack down and read this and Redeeming Birth. I must do so plus read 10 articles published in professional journals to maintain my doula certification. 

Larry and Kathy Miller’s Never Ever Be the Same – This is a great book. I really want to get back to reading it.

And yes, I would like to complete them all before the end of the year.

Fitness Goals

30 minutes of cardio Monday-Friday – My virus seems to be almost gone. Hopefully, I’ll get back at this tomorrow.

Upper body workout – 2x/wk – see above

Lower body workout – 2x/wk – ditto

Continue drinking more water and eating better (It’s coming!) – Salad is on the menu again for supper tonight. (Asian salad . . . yum!)

Miscellaneous Goals

I wrote this heading before filling in the above categories. I’m thinking, except for a little organization around the house, I won’t add miscellaneous goals this time.

will make some serious headway on the main level this week. (My hubby did an amazing job reorganizing his office/the guest room while he was on holidays.)

I need to update my website.

I am one of the vendor’s at a local fundraiser in November, so I want to get the site tweaked before the end of the month.

4 thoughts on “October 26 ROW80 Check-In

  1. I hear you–I cannot believe it is almost 2015! It sounds so futuristic…

    Seems like you are making good headway on your goals, great job! I don’t know how you have time for all of them, but way to go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

