Poems 24-27

Pen and Ink

Below are the titles and the prompts from the past three days of OctPoWriMo … and my responses to each.

Poem 24 – “Reality” Check and Guilty Pleasures

Let’s pull our inspiration from one (or more) of the genres in these shows (So You Think You Can Dance, Project Runway, Face Off, Ink Master).

since I was a little girl

i’ve wanted to dance

was i

am i

good at it

nope

at this point

will i learn to dance

beautifully

gracefully

expressively

probably not

but my life can be

beautiful

graceful

expressive

will i wow

vast audiences

highly unlikely

will i brighten 

my little corner of the world

now there’s a possibility

if i let my heart dance

if beauty and grace

flow from my life

if my words and deeds

touch others

and set their hearts to dancing

maybe even their feet

“You have turned for me my mourning into dancing; you have loosed my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness” (Psalm 30:11 ESV).

Poem 25 – Magic and Possibilities

I choose to believe in magic, I think it makes life more interesting. Whether it is the magic of life, synchronicities, or another magical event, write for ten minutes about magic, possibilities and mystery and see where it takes you.

Do you believe in magic? Have you ever followed synchronicities to see where they would lead?

my life is full of synchronicities

do i see them as magic

no

how about random everyday occurrences

not that either

i am certain

they are more than

the result

of probability and statistics

a synchronicity is

“a meaningful coincidence”

these coincidences

these occurrences

these synchronicities

are the result of

divine intervention

they are meaningful

they remind me that

God is at work in my life

and through my life

there is 

nothing more meaningful than that

magic

no

miraculous

absolutely

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose” (Romans 8:28 ESV).

Poem 26 – Face Your Fears

What is something that scares you? It doesn’t have to be a major or life changing event. It could be that moment when you’re turning a corner in a dark hallway. A sound that reminds you of walking home in the dark when you were young and easily startled. Get creative!

my one real fear

r-e-g-r-e-t

it can consume me

it can rob

yesterday of its lessons

today of its joy

tomorrow of its wonder

can i change what has happened

i cannot

can i learn from it

absolutely

has it made me the person i am

it has

would i change some things

there’s no doubt

but i can’t

so i’ll do my best to learn the lessons

yesterday can teach me

no making excuses

taking responsibility 

for my thoughts, words, and deeds

but i will not succumb

to energy-sapping regret

i’ll live today as best i can

and i’ll plan for tomorrow

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thessalonians 5:18 ESV).

Poem 27 – Sleep and Dreams

Let’s write about sleep. What does it feel like as you’re drifting off or as you’re returning to wakefulness? Do you dream vividly in color? Explore the physical sensations of sleep and dreaming in a freewrite and see what surfaces as the story to be told in your poem.

 as my son falls asleep

he keeps pen and paper handy

he feels he is at his most creative

in those moments 

just before sleep takes him

what a wondrous perspective

in those moments

before i slip into unconsciousness

my thoughts usually go

something like this

will my mind ever stop racing

will sleep ever come

perhaps i should get up and do something

maybe i’ll count my blessings

and count down from 99 while i’m at it

99 – my hubby

98 – my kids

97 – our home

ninety …

goodnight all

“I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With him at my right hand, I will not be shaken. Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure” (Psalm 16:8-9 ESV).

 

Leave a Reply

