Are You Hungry and Thirsty?

Water Glass

Funny . . . I read the story of Jesus and the Samaritan woman this morning in John 4 and today’s OctPoWriMo prompt is hunger. While John 4 deals with thirst, the two are closely linked. Therefore, that will be the inspiration for today’s poem.

Am I truly hungry

Am I truly thirsty

Not for food and drink

But for the Bread of Life

and

The Living Water

I presume

Water will flow

When I turn on the tap

I presume

There will be food

When I open my fridge

It has been so in the past

So why not now

Do I expect the same

From the Life-Giver

Presume

The kitchen isn’t my favourite place

If I can grab and go

I will

Too often

I approach

Real hunger

Real thirst

In the way

I must take the time

To prepare myself

To sit down and feast

To invite others

To do the same

To linger around the table

To enjoy the total experience

And not just on special occasions

For the Bread of Life

And the Living Water

Are available

To be savoured

Each and every day

May I do so

“If you knew the gift of God, and who it is that is saying to you, ‘Give me a drink,’ you would have asked him, and he would have given you living water” (John 4:10 ESV).

7 thoughts on “Are You Hungry and Thirsty?

  1. Wow. I love this! That last line is a fervent prayer…I pray I too, can savor the Bread of Life. ‘if anyone is thirsty, let him come to Me and drink’. Wonderful poem!

Leave a Reply

