Love Like Jesus

IMG_9554

Over 30 years ago

This man

This amazing man

Promised to love me

Like Christ loved the church

Selflessly

Completely

Eternally

It was a beautiful sentiment

But how could he make such a promise

After all

Who knew what our tomorrows would bring

Well

Because of the strength and love

That God provides

Year after year

Decade after decade

Dave loved me

Faithfully

Diligently

Undeservedly

It took me far too long

To begin to love my beloved

As he deserves

But still

He did not withdraw his love from me

Not even a little

So what stage of love am I in?

That wondrous, glorious, amazing stage

That only gets better

With each passing day

May he and I share many, many more of them

“Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her” (Ephesians 5:25 ESV).

10 thoughts on “Love Like Jesus

  1. ramonafurst

    What an encouragement you are to younger men and women in relationships. It is possible to remain faithful, faith filled and love.

    Take it from me who looks at a relationship past forty years! In Christ we are be comer’s.

    Micah 6:8 He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the Lord require of you?
    To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly with your God. N.I.V

    Ramona

  2. You were right, Steph. We did write fairly similar pieces! I love your poem, and I really appreciate that you are very open about your love for Christ, and that your marriage is based on His firm foundation. God bless! My wife and I often say that, without Him in our lives, we could not be where we are. We’ve travelled to hard a road to make it on our own. I suspect that you and Dave would share that sentiment. This is definitely added to ‘my favorite poems’ bookmark list.

    1. I wouldn’t … for one second … want to imagine what live would be like without the Lord. Long story short … God led me to Bible college (where I thought I was going to get a degree, definitely not a husband). This may be one of those times God laughed. His plans were so much better than mine (as they always are). According to all conventional wisdom, Dave and I shouldn’t be together and certainly shouldn’t have a strong and lasting marriage that continues to get better year after year, but God takes the inexplicable and shows His ways to be infinitely beyond all “conventional wisdom.”

      Thanks for favouriting “Love Like Jesus.” I appreciate it very much.

  3. I’m so thrilled for you that you experience that kind of human love, because I do too and I know that it is rare. I hurt for those who don’t enjoy it like we do. May God bring many more into that kind of relationship.

Leave a Reply

