The Day Before

IMG_8981

The day before

My precious mother

Went to be with Jesus

I didn’t know

She was that close

To Eternity

The day before

My precious mother

Breathed her last

This side of Glory

I was looking ahead

To a brand new decade

My 50s

The day before

My precious mother

Was released

To go in peace

I didn’t know

My sister and I would celebrate

My birthday dinner

After a long day making

Final preparations

For our mother

Our very dear friend

The day before

My precious mother

Made her exit

I didn’t know

Just how much

I would miss her

Not the woman

Who had drifted from reality

But the woman

I’d adventured with

As a child

As a teen

The woman

Who taught me what

A selfless giver

Looks like

The woman

I still want to call

When something wonderful

Or terrible

Happens

The day before

My mother

Took her final journey

I just didn’t know

How much things would change

“Her children rise up and call her blessed” (Proverbs 31:28 ESV).

17 thoughts on “The Day Before

  1. ramonafurst

    That is one of the most beautiful and well crafted pieces of poetry that I have read that expresses so well the love of a parent.

    At my mother’s funeral and as the sanctuary filled up with people I heard someone say, “I thought I was Ruth’s best friend, but now I see I’m not the only one!”

    R

  2. Pirkko Rytkonen

    Beautiful words spoken about your mom and life. Nicely done. Tried to post a comment but was denied entry again! Happens all the time when I try to make comments about anyone’s blogs? Wont accept my login and password for my Word press account??? frustrating. Pirkko

Leave a Reply

