Meet My Author Friend Janet Sketchley

Janet-Sketchley

I will be guest posting over at Janet’s blog, Tenacity, the last Friday of each month. Today Janet posted an interview so her readers could get to know me. I’d like you to meet her as well.

I met Janet some years ago (we can’t decide whether it was in 2010 or 2004) at Write Canada.

Janet, my readers . . . readers, this is Janet.

As I mentioned, you are a fiction author (more about that later), but when you’re not writing, how do you spend your time?

It’s possible that I read too much. 🙂 I like to knit and cross-stitch when there’s time. And I’m a tea drinker. As for anything productive, I’m an at-home wife who’s not very good at the whole housekeeping thing, and I do part-time merchandising work as needed.

Your novels, Heaven’s Prey and Secrets & Lies, are very intense mysteries. What drew you to write in this genre? Who inspires you?

Ruth from Heaven’s Prey popped into my mind one day, trapped as a hostage in a speeding car. I just went along for the ride. 🙂 I like fiction that lets Christian characters explore their faith, and stories with suspense or adventure are my favourites. Who inspires me? Brandilyn Collins (Christian suspense) and Timothy Zahn (mainstream science fiction).

I know you love to read. What are you currently reading and would you recommend it to others? Why or why not?

HL Wegley’s Triple Threat, Book 4 in his Pure Genius series. It’s a fast-paced Christian romantic suspense about tracking terrorists on the internet. I’ve enjoyed the previous books in the series, and I’d recommend it to people who want a safe (non-traumatic and also clean) read about edgy subjects such as human trafficking (previous books) and terrorism.

Janet and Sheep

You also love sheep and often take a stuffed one with you when you travel. Can you tell us why?

I caught the sheep appeal from one of my sons – as well as a fondness for turtles. Basically, I love any kind of living thing except mosquitoes and related pests. Why does a sheep travel with me? Maybe it’s kind of a “Flat Stanley” thing, where the game is to take pictures of the Stanley cutout in various places. Maybe it’s because I’d rather be behind the lens than in the photo. Are my sheep surrogates for selfies?

(photo taken by Susan Stewart at Write Canada 2014)

And speaking of traveling . . . what are you most looking forward to about Write Canada this year?

I haven’t seen details of the faculty, classes or workshops yet, so this won’t sound very professional-development oriented. But I’m looking forward to reconnecting with friends like you and making new friends. For the non-writer, that sounds purely social, but it’s not only fun – it’s affirming and encouraging. There’s something about spending time with people who “get” you that helps you go home stronger. The other thing I’m excited about is that one of my sons (not the shepherd) is planning to come with me. He’s a better writer than me and generally fun to hang out with. See you at Write Canada in June!

If you would like to learn more about Janet, visit her site:  http://janetsketchley.ca/ 

You can purchase Secrets & Lies and Heaven’s Prey from various suppliers: http://janetsketchley.ca/bookshelf/

And if you would like to read my interview, you can do so here: http://janetsketchley.ca/new-guest-blogger/

 

2 thoughts on “Meet My Author Friend Janet Sketchley

Leave a Reply

