February 15 ROW80 Check-In

First, let me say . . .

Coloured Pencil Heart

(thanks to pixabay.com)

Happy Heart Day (a tiny bit belated)

And now for this week’s ROW80 check-in . . .

Spiritual Goals

There will always be more to do, but it was a good week.

Read through New Testament twice (and once through selected Old Testament books)

Follow through with the 1-Minute Prayer Plan

Keep Thankfulness Journal (I started this last year then fell behind … time to make a new start.)

Memorize significant portions of the Bible (work on this three or more times per week)

IMG_8823

(With our blustery, snowy weather, it’s nice to look forward to the days ahead.)

Family/Household Goals

Read God’s Word and pray with family each night M-F

My daughter has a new job. Yay! We, therefore, must find a way to make this work.

Post to family FB group.

~ more than I have been

Declutter the house

It’s just over a month until my sons come home to surprise their dad for his 60th b-day. (Well, I at least hope it’s a surprise.) It’s definitely time to get the second spare room decluttered or Son #2 will have to traverse an obstacle course in order to get to the bed. The good news is that the cleaning and organizing I did for company last week is keeping me motivated to stay on top of things on the main level.

Plan and prep home-cooked suppers (Planning ahead is more than half the battle for me.)

Oh, for a personal chef . . . 

Pen and Ink

Writing Goals

Blog at least twice per week on SNEI and once on SBN

I’m seriously thinking of backing this off to once per week on each site.

Guest blog at least eight times per month

~ still motoring along

Participate in Ruth Snyder’s blog hop

~ time to put together the final post on the topic of writing and then decide if I’m going to hop aboard for the next leg of the journey

Write four seniors’ living articles per month (and any other projects that come through from this client)

~ hoping to write one on Tuesday and one on Thursday

Write and record 20 devotionals and two book reviews per month for HopeStreamRadio

I got a fair amount done this past week. I want to have enough “banked” so I can take off time while my kiddiddles are home.

12 picture books

~ officially on hold

12 writing contest entries

I’m not sure this is going to happen for the next couple of months . . . unless you include submitting a couple of pieces for possible inclusion in an anthology I’m working on.

Write posts for the InScribe blog monthly and the InScribe pro blog ever six weeks or so

~ on schedule

Write one or two submissions for possible inclusion in the InScribe anthology.

I’ve submitted a poem and have written a fiction sample for the website. I may expand on the story and officially submit it for consideration.

Participate in at least one Camp NaNo in the summer, OctPoWriMo in October, and PiBoIdMo in November

Life Through the Lens, The Write Stuff, Fit Tips, Well-Versed, If You Love Me (ebooks I hope to publish this coming year)

I just don’t know how I can add anything to my schedule before June. After that, we’ll see.

Submitting Goals

12-24 picture books manuscripts

~ on hold

12 writing contests (with at least the possibility of a small cash award)

I may double up each month when if things slow down.

IMG_8517

(In the summer I’d love to work at our local park.)

Editing/Critiquing Goals

I have a couple of paying gigs and some volunteer work on the go.

Marketing/Connecting Goals

Tweet once per day (M-F)

~ most days

Post to FB page daily

~ doin’ okay

Post to G+weekly

~ only remember because I write it down . . . like so many other things, actually

Baby 5

(one of the reasons I’m not ready to give up my certification)

Doula Goals

Attend 3-6 births

Complete recert requirements

Advertise more aggressive

~ haven’t given up hope

IMG_8705

(This is one of my backyard reading companies in the warm weather. His name is Draco.)

Photography Goals

Develop a website (or add to stephbethnickel.com)

~ a great goal for the summer

Reading Goals

One fiction and one nonfiction book (or the equivalent) per month

~ definitely ahead of schedule

Reading nonfiction books and blog posts in prep for five-hour intensive class I’m teaching at this year’s writers’ conference in June.

I’ve almost finished reading one book and have started a second.

20140612-DSC_6783

(pic by Sarah Grace Photography)

Personal Goals

Exercise 3-5 times per week

I’ve made a written plan for the next month. Woohoo!

Eat well

It’s coming.

Drink more water

~ choosing water more often

Go through one journal per month; decide what to keep for my kids and what to simply toss (Who knows? I might even gain some inspiration for my writing.)

Another summer project perhaps?

ROW Logo

ROW80 Goals

Post weekly

Visit my peeps on Mondays and Thursdays

~ doing better

4 thoughts on “February 15 ROW80 Check-In

  1. well that’s a great list of goals – I admit I too have problems prep ahead on meals keep saying I will:( hope you manage to get ahead in time for the children’s return – all the best for this week:)

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Alberta. The one thing I’m doing is buying more salads. The ideal is to prep my own, but if I have a bag of ready-made salad on hand, it’s easy to make a wise meal choice. However, I don’t think everyone is as excited about the idea as I am. 😀

      1. Not sure I would be either to be honest:) salad is the one thing I want to do myself but I’m home all day and it is easy to make one – I understand the time constraint thing. I am, as age catches up with me, coming round to the idea of having vegetables in the freezer – to grab that handful, chopping becomes more painful daily The pre-prep thing is for days when i really cannot face preparing a meal or for when I am ill so my sister will have something easy to prepare & I dont then feel I have to get up from sick bed and do it.

Leave a Reply

