The Write Conference for Me

Write Canada Conference Banner

As members of the fledgling writers’ group Women Writing for Christ (WWC), we donned our matching t-shirts and headed for Guelph, Ontario. For some of us, it was our first Write Canada conference. There was so much to learn and so many new friends to make. That was back in 2004, hard to imagine.

Attendees, presenters, and organizers alike shared a love for the written word. There was an instant connection. Plus, they shared a common faith. And that was even more important to me.

While there were a number of years between the time I first attended the conference and the second, I can say, at the risk of sounding cliche, it was like coming home. I recognized the beautiful facility and many of the faces.

Ever since, I have attended annually. I have connected with some wonderful people. And for me, the relationship-driven extrovert that I am, this is quite possibly the #1 benefit. It’s wonderful to connect with others who know the joys and challenges of writing for publication—and writing in general.

From plenary sessions to continuing classes, from workshops to one-on-one meetings with editors, publishers, and agents . . . that’s Write Canada. To use 21st-century punctuation . . . a.ma.zing!

Over the years, I learned much and became increasingly involved in The Word Guild.

I have met new friends and seen doors of opportunity open. For instance, I first met Ron Hughes at Write Canada. And now, because of that meeting, I am now a regular contributor to HopeStreamRadio, one of the highlights of my life as a writer, a Christian, a person.

And this year when I was approached about teaching a Creative Nonfiction Intensive, this must have been how I looked . . .

Surprised Monkey

This is also how I imagine I looked when I discovered that the book I had the privilege of co-authoring, Paralympian Deb Willows’ memoir, Living Beyond My Circumstances, was shortlisted for in the category of Life Stories in The Word Awards. (New author confession . . . I kept going back to the list to make sure our names hadn’t disappeared. :D)

I have the privilege of knowing some of the hardworking individuals who are planning this year’s conference. I know they are seeking to make it the best conference it can be and I am excited to participate.

I can’t encourage you strongly enough to join us and see what amazing doors may open before you. Like me, you may end up involved in writing projects you never dreamed of. Beginner? Professional writer? Somewhere in between? This may be the write conference for you. (Sorry, I couldn’t help myself.)

To be fair, I suppose I should share a drawback or two. No matter how disciplined I’ve told myself I was going to be, the bookstore has always shouted at me LOUDLY. While the books I add to my library are well worth the cost, I really should read my unread volumes before bringing home more.

And speaking of relationships and book buying, the more authors I get to know personally, the harder I find it to walk past their books. It’s like walking past a friend without acknowledging them. Unheard of!

I’d say both these “drawbacks” are most definitely worth overcoming for all the benefits I gain from attending the Write Canada conference each year.

Plus, I always, always, always go home energized and ready to sit down at my computer and write.

I’d love to see you at Write Canada this year. Find out more on The Write Canada page.

And if you’d like a chance to win a free registration (and who doesn’t like free?), post a blog about the conference before May 1. Link to your piece on The Word Guild Facebook page to enter.

6 thoughts on “The Write Conference for Me

  1. This introverted writer has actually been mistaken for an extrovert at Write Canada… the atmosphere is that welcoming. And congratulations on being short-listed! See you in June 🙂

  2. Was that really in 2004? Wow. Where have the years gone? I still have my shirt! 😉 There’s always such great learning at Write Canada! Not sure if I’ll be able to attend this year or not. We’ll see.

  3. I haven’t yet attended a writers’ conference other than WANACon – but, in the next few years, the kids will be old enough to let me give the idea serious consideration (and I’ll be that much further along my personal writerly path).

    I have felt what you describe at the Northeast Unschooling Conference, though. =)

    May your convention time wildly exceed your expectations, and may you return brimming over with ideas and energy!

    1. When my kids were young, I did a blend of homeschooling/unschooling. I’m so thankful I had that time with them.

      Write Canada is just around the corner. I’m sure I’ll be sharing all about it on my blog in early June.

      I’ve thought about attending WANACon. I’m sure it’s a blast, even if attendees can’t be together in the same physical location.

      Happy Writing, Shan. Have a splendiforous weekend.

Leave a Reply

