Poem and Midweek Check-In

Illusion

With renewed interest in my confessions of a horrible housekeeper posts, I decided to re-post this poem from 2011. Enjoy!

Watch very carefully.

Don’t blink or you’ll miss it.

There.

Did you see it?

Oh, I’m sure you did.

No?

OK.

One more time.

This time focus,

Really focus.

Yes.

The dishes are clean,

The bed is made,

The laundry is caught up,

You can see the top of the table,

You can even find a chair to sit on,

The dusting is done . . . most of it.

What?

You blinked.

Silly you.

Now the illusion is gone

And things are back to normal.

Silly, silly you.

ROW Logo

Writing Goals

~ Camp NaNo (10,000 words of fiction by month’s end)

This is not gonna happen. I have deadlines looming for several projects. As we at ROW80 know, “Life happens.” And hey, I love my life.

~ HopeStreamRadio contributions

“Okay, so this week I’ll make no excuses for working ahead.” That’s what I said when I was going to post my check-in on Sunday.

Next week. For real this time.

~ weekly posts for my website (some will be recycled works)

I spent some time reworking this site, but that’s no excuse for neglecting my website, especially if it’s simply a matter of re-posting for the most part.

~ guest posts

I’m still on track, but I should work ahead, considering my European adventure is just around the corner.

Editing Goals

~ keep up with my clients’ work

By the end of the week, I’ll have two of these projects wrapped up—Lord willin’ and the crik don’t rise.

Reading Goals

~ finish reading/make significant headway in Desperate Measures by Sandra Orchard, My Life A.S. Is by Benjamin Collier, Once Upon a Sandbox by Carolyn Wilker, The Convict’s Thumbprint by Beverley Boissery, The Life Ready Woman by Shaunti Feldhahn and Robert Lewis, The Language of Sparrows by Rachel Phifer, Learn Twitter: 10 Intermediate Steps by Ruth L. Snyder, and Six Figures in Six Months by Tyrone Maccow

I’ve made significant progress on The Convict’s Thumbprint, The Language of Sparrows, and Learn Twitter . . . 

This week’s reading time will be taken up reviewing a client’s fantasy manuscript.

Sponsor Goals

~ visit my ROW80 peeps once or twice per week except when I’m in the UK

I usually visit a day or two after check-in, but hey, I’m visiting. 🙂

Fitness Goals

~ walk from 3-5x per week (break in my hiking boots)

We probably hit the low end of this goal, but we need to ramp it up some—and I need to wear my boots more often.

~ resistance training 2-3x per week

I’ve done more but not as much as I’d like.

~ eat better (hoping to get to the local farmers’ market weekly)

I didn’t buy a ton this past Saturday, but the raspberries and corn on the cob were delish.

~ drink more water

If I don’t buy flavoured drinks that call my name (or if I wear eye plugs when they do) I’ll be much more successful in this area. Keeping ice water on my desk keeps me drinking.

8 thoughts on “Poem and Midweek Check-In

  1. You work so hard, Steph! I’m still on the road as we’re dawdling home from holidays. First order of business when I get back is to write my blog post for Inscribe…this comment my way of telling you, it might be just a tad late–or not. We’ll see how it flows.

    1. And there are so many more important things than having a picture perfect house. Having a happy, peaceful home is high on the list for me. (I’m just getting around to the decluttering thing now that my “baby” is 25. 😉

  2. The poem is great. Love it!

    You still manage to get much accomplished each week and that is awesome. Are you excited for your travels across the pond?

    Sending you good vibes this week.

    1. Thanks so much for popping by and taking the time to comment, Cindy. Today I will finish up a couple of major projects, thereby, freeing up a little time for last minute prep. Once that is well in hand, I will allow myself to become excited. 🙂

Leave a Reply

