I Love This Season

Though I didn’t use the word or sentence prompts for today’s OctPoWriMo poem, I did decide to write a paradell poem. Below is the description from Shadowpoetry.com:

First Three Stanzas:

The first two lines as well as the third and fourth lines of the first three stanzas must be the same (repeat). Where it begins to get difficult and become more of a poetic puzzle is when reaching fifth and sixth lines. These lines must contain all the words from the preceding four lines within the stanza using them only once to form completely new lines.

Last Stanza:

For the most difficult piece of this poetic puzzle, the final stanza of the paradelle does not repeat like the preceding stanzas, rather the final six lines must contain every word from the first three stanzas, and only those words, again using them only once to form completely new lines.

The Design is simple:

Stanza 1: 1, 1, 2, 2, 3, 4
Stanza 2: 5, 5, 6, 6, 7, 8
Stanza 3: 9, 9, 10, 10, 11, 12
Stanza 4: 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18

Are you confused yet? I was at first, but here goes . . .

I love this season of the year,
I love this season of the year,
The air so crisp and cool, so clear,
The air so crisp and cool, so clear,
I love the air so crisp and clear,
So this season of the year . . .

Bring joy to memories, that’s real,
Brings joy to memories, that’s real,
They lift me up, make me feel,
They lift me up, make me feel
Memories, they make me feel,
Lift me up to joy that’s real.

Real wonder, smiles, and happiness,
Real wonder, smiles, and happiness,
In brilliant colours, trees are dressed,
In brilliant colours, trees are dressed,
Brilliant wonder and happiness,
In colours’ smiles, real trees are dressed.

This season of the year, so real,
And memories, they make me feel,
Wonder, joy, and happiness,
Clear air so crisp, colours-dressed,
Cool, real, brilliant are the trees,
I bring in love to lift up smiles, that’s me.

18 thoughts on “I Love This Season

  1. Excellent … I feel like I’m there … hearing the leave and feel the happiness – and reading yours and other’s poems using this form, I’m finally beginning to understand it …. it looks way fun and this autumn these is so inspiring!

Leave a Reply

