Uncommon Love

Today’s OctPoWriMo assignment, should we choose to accept it, is to write a loopy love poem.

Loopy? you ask. Here’s the explanation of a loop poem from shadowpoetry.com:

Loop Poetry is a poetry form created by Hellon. There are no restrictions on the number of stanzas nor on the syllable count for each line. In each stanza, the last word of the first line becomes the first word of line two, last word of line 2 becomes the first word of line 3, last word of line 3 becomes the first word of line 4. This is followed for each stanza. The rhyme scheme is abcb.

Here goes . . .

Treble Clef and Hearts

It began with a knowing,
Knowing you were the man,
Man, was I surprised,
Surprised but I never ran.

I knew I’d be cherished,
Cherished and cared for,
For-ever and always,
Always loved more and more.

And my love began to grow,
Grow steadier, stronger,
Stronger, deeper, more intense,
Intense as we’re together longer.

To the outsider, our life is common,
Common as the everyday,
Every day I learn how uncommon,
Uncommon has been our way.

Our life is filled with lasting joy,
Joy fills our memories and our days,
Days that seem ordinary,
Ordinary only through the haze.

But we have eyes to see,
See beyond the haze, the everyday,
Everyday comings and goings,
Goings that lead far away.

The Lord Himself brought you,
You to me and me to you,
You never doubted it nor did I,
I have always known it’s true.

And wondrously our love grew,
Grew so intense it could not be contained,
Contained by tiny human hearts,
Hearts by the Divine maintained.

One day the love we share will take flight,
Flight that soars to His dwelling,
Dwelling forever with Perfect Love,
Love worth the telling.

8 thoughts on “Uncommon Love

  1. First you made me laugh – loopy love poetry – it hadn’t even crossed my mind but it makes sense as I’m not a big lover of love poetry. =)

    Second, you touched my heart – beautiful and loving poem – warms me that you were able to put this together from my prompt.

    Peace to you.

Leave a Reply

