A Soul Overwhelmed

Today’s OctPoWriMo Prompt: In honor of my week of feeling overwhelmed, I challenge you to write into your feelings of overwhelm; when you feel it, how you feel it, what happens when you feel it, and what you do about it.

And we are to write a ballad no less. Though not legend or folklore (the usual subject matter for a ballad), this poem is something my fellow writers (and others) may be able to relate to. 

So here goes . . . 

While staring at an empty page
And wond’ring what to write,
My mind goes blank, and so my heart
May lose the will to fight.

Some days can overwhelm the soul
And leave us feeling numb,
It is those days that weigh us down
Unless we know the Son.

Because of Him, the Word Himself,
There’s always lots to say,
So digging deep inside my mind,
I know I’ll find a way.

Some days can overwhelm the soul
And leave us feeling numb,
It is those days that weigh us down
Unless we know the Son.

The words may flow or I may stall,
Not knowing what comes next,
But pushing onward, I must go,
Refusing to be vexed.

Some days can overwhelm the soul
And leave us feeling numb,
It is those days that weigh us down
Unless we know the Son.

I won’t give up or walk away,
At least I won’t for long,
For there is something I should say,
My silence would be wrong.

Some days can overwhelm the soul
And leave us feeling numb,
It is those days that weigh us down
Unless we know the Son.

So when I’m up above the world
Or when I’m far beneath,
I’ll put my thoughts upon the page,
And share my deep belief.

Some days can overwhelm the soul
And leave us feeling numb,
It is those days that weigh us down
Unless we know the Son.

15 thoughts on “A Soul Overwhelmed

  1. Amen! Thank-you for sharing the hope we have when we know the Son! We are not hapless accidents on a tidal-wave of circumstance and coincidences. We are His beloved. Thank-you for reminding me of what I too easily forget.

Leave a Reply

