November 1 ROW80 Check-In

ROW Logo

Why wait until January? Make November 1 (or any day) a new beginning.

*NEW

Scheduling Goal

Though I love to have some (lots) of wiggle room in my daily schedule, it’s time to give things a little more structure.

*NEW

Researching Goal

Research info for Deb Willows’ second book and info on self-publishing the five ebook ideas I have chasing each other around in my brain.

Learning Goals

COMPEL Training ~ My goal this week is to complete COMPEL 501. I have to pace myself. There’s so much great teaching here. (I completed 101, 201, 301, and 401 in just over a week.)

Spiritual Goals

~ begin each day with prayer and Bible study (This habit slipped while I was out of town.)

Writing Goals

*NEW

~ write a book proposal for Deb Willows’ second book

*NEW

~ prep at least one ebook for publication early 2016 (This will involve more tweaking, assembly, and proofreading than actual writing.)

~ participate in OctPoWriMo (And . . . done. Perhaps this year I will continue to write at least one poem per month and try some of the poetic forms described at shadowpoetry.com.)

~ five three devotionals per week for HopeStreamRadio (I really want to get into the habit of writing and recording these early in the week.)

~ weekly posts for my website (Now that posting my favourite poems written the previous week is drawing to a close, I’ll have to decide what to include from here on out.)

~ guest posts for Christian Editing Services, Kimberley Payne, InScribe, Janet Sketchley, and InScribe Professional Blog (Deb Willows, my co-author, has asked me to write a guest post in the next little while. I’ve added it to my list. I love guest posting—if you can’t tell.)

Editing Goals

~ keep up with my clients’ work (Especially since I may be taking on a new responsibility early 2016, I have to get in the habit of spending more undistracted time on this. AKA . . . Close FB and email, Steph.)

Reading Goals

~ read fiction books 3x per week (for a total of 1.5-3 hours) (I’m focussing on Janet Sketchley’s Without Proof.)

~ read nonfiction books 3x per week (for a total of 1.5-3 hours) regularly (I’m getting back into The Editor’s Companion. It’s always good to remind myself of things buried somewhere deep in my brain in addition to learning new things.)

ROW80 Sponsor Goals

~ visit my ROW80 peeps once or twice per week (Now that I’m back in the office, I look forward to visiting each one this week, maybe even twice.)

Creativity Goals

~ take 1-2 photo walks per month (I may put this on hold until the snow flies. We’ll see. I don’t find the bare trees all that inspiring. I may just have to look for totally new subject matter. Hmm, there’s an idea.)

~ paint 1x per month (As much as I’d love to, I don’t think this is realistic—at least not for now.)

~ add decorative touches as we redecorate each room (Though this is on hold due to unexpected plumbing renos, I should still get busy decluttering regularly.)

Fitness Goals

~ walk 15-30 minutes each weekday morning (My hubby and I walked some while we were away—but mostly up and down the main street of Huntsville. Hey, we got Christmas shopping done for one branch of the family and that wasn’t even on my list.)

~ walk with hubby 3-5x per week while the weather is good (Our custodial responsibilities constitute our exercise each weeknight. We were doing some Wii Fit Plus as well. My hubby will likely still use the Wii for exercise, but I won’t likely do so.)

~ resistance training 2-3x per week (I am going to develop / research a routine to do twice a week until the end of the year and will then change things up every month or two.)

~ eat well 5-6 days per week (It’s a brand new month. Let’s do this!)

~ drink more water (incl. caffeine free herbal teas) (I often chose to drink water while we were away. Yay, me!)

14 thoughts on “November 1 ROW80 Check-In

  1. You have a long list of goals, but you seem to have them well in hand. Good for you! And I love the goal about eating well 5-6 days per week! You have to pig out one day a week or what’s the point in living, right? Best wishes for a productive month!

    1. Chuckle, chuckle. I’d go for dessert only once per week … maybe we’ll get there (not for my sake though; for others. Missions money.)

      🙂

  2. Second book for, and with, Deb Willows? Wow – Exciting! Can’t wait to hear a wee bit about it 🙂
    And, self-publishing one of those 5 e-books? Trust you’ve looked at Smashwords? Easiest, and possibly the best system I’ve come across in all my (many) self publishing research stints. Take a peek at Smashwords story told on You Tube if you haven’t looked into them yet. Pretty darn interesting!

    Blessings Steph!
    Talk…soon (when I have something intelligent to report in. Grin.)

    1. The advantage of Camp NaNo is the ability to set one’s own word count goal. It runs a couple of times each year and I like to participate when I can. For those who want to test the NaNoWriMo waters, it’s a great option.

  3. Lovely new goals! Lovely energy.

    I didn’t manage to get all the poems written,. this year, and I posted even fewer. I fell off the visiting wagon altogether; due to life….but I plan to do some visiting, maybe share more of the poems I created, and….well. the and is for after NaNo. =)

    BTW, I love bare trees. They always remind me of sculpture.

      1. Sometimes, something has to give. For you it was the blog. For me, it was some of the poems…

        I do have all but I think six or seven. A few were scrawled in a notebook over the course of the weekend; I’m not sure they amount to much, but there may be the seeds of what they can become held within them.

        I’ll be writing more about the experience after I get some sleep, but, even though it wasn’t remotely the OctPoWriMo I envisioned as October approached, there was a lot of good in striving alongside challenges…

        Looking forward to your posts! =D

      2. I’ve become aware that I have a tendency to expect myself to fit way more into most days than I can manage, and to be more specific than my current life circumstances as the mom of an unschooling teen and tween who are by definition in states of rapid, sometimes head-spinning growth and change, can support.

        I’m learning how to let go and just be a little more, and to go where the spirit and vibe of each day take me.

        I still seem to be getting things done (maybe even more things, but that could be illusory), but I’m far more relaxed doing it.

      3. If I had it to do over, I would follow more of an unschooling model. Mine was somewhere in between. And back then, it was mostly about the kiddiddles. Have a great day, Shan. Thanks so much for popping by. Always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

