More Than a ROW80 Check-In

Thank you for your patience. Perhaps I burned myself out posting every day of October by participating in OctPoWriMo … or perhaps that’s just an excuse. Time to prepare a blogging schedule, something more concrete than adding “SBNB post” to my planner each week.

With the holiday season upon us, Christmas will be my theme until the week of December 27. (My apologies to those of you who have not turned your thoughts to twinkling lights and evergreens as of yet.)

IMG_9258

What gives me the warm fuzzies at this time of year?

~ memories of Christmas past in the house I grew up in (see above)

~ freshly cut trees that don’t fit in the house (Hey, it looked small in the forest.)

~ white, fluffy stuff (Granted, I’d rather drive on clear roads. And, if it were possible, I would rather snow happened when it was about 25-30 degrees Celsius, but such is not the case.)

~ twinkling lights reflecting off said white, fluffy stuff

~ snowmen and snowforts (My dad built snowmen using an old rusty drum. Who said they had to be made using three snowballs of various sizes—and devoid of rusty metal flecks?)

~ tobogganing down a ridiculously long hill … only to have to climb to the top, never knowing, with each step, if I’d sink through the crusty layer

These are six of my favourite Christmas / winter memories. How about you? What gives you the warm fuzzies during the holiday season?

***

ROW Logo

And now for that ROW80 check-in …

Scheduling Goal

Though I love to have some (lots) of wiggle room in my daily schedule, it’s time to give things a little more structure.

Believe it or not, the more I take on, the more able I am to focus on one thing at a time. Weird, I know.

Spiritual Goals

~ begin each day with prayer and Bible study

Even when I don’t begin the day this way, I must not use it as an excuse not to fit it into my schedule.

Writing Goals

~ write a book proposal for Deb Willows’ second book

As I said, our chat adds incentive to get at it.

~ prep at least one ebook for publication early 2016 (This will involve more tweaking, assembly, and proofreading than actual writing.)

I’ve made a teeny tiny start, but hey, it’s a start.

~ five three devotionals per week for HopeStreamRadio

I’ve decided on a theme for the next 12 devotionals. Planning ahead helps.

~ weekly posts for my website

Restarted today. Woohoo!

~ guest posts for Christian Editing Services, Kimberley Payne, InScribe, Janet Sketchley, and InScribe Professional Blog

I have five to write this week and a sixth that I can write if I so choose. 

*NEW

Write bonus materials for those who sign up for the quarterly newsletter I hope to send out starting in January 2016.

I’ve had a MailChimp account for a while. It’s about time I began to use it. 

Editing Goals

~ keep up with my clients’ work

I’m making progress on all three projects. 

Researching Goal

Research info for Deb Willows’ second book and info on self-publishing the five ebook ideas I have chasing each other around in my brain.

Deb and I will be chatting this week. So this gives me extra incentive to get something accomplished before we do.

*NEW

Research the specifics of self-publishing

Learning Goals

COMPEL Training ~ Great teaching … definitely worth the money each month.

*NEW

~ learn something new 3-5 x / wk (often from my saved bookmarks or “Only Me” Facebook posts)

Reading Goals

~ read daily

I read more some days than others, but that’s likely the case for all of us.

ROW80 Sponsor Goals

~ visit my ROW80 peeps once or twice per week

Yepper.

Creativity Goals

~ come up with 30 ideas for picture books this month as part of PiBoIdMo

I’m back to aiming for one picture book idea per day, but I shouldn’t have any trouble getting 30 ideas listed by the end of the month … not 30 good ideas, mind you. I am reading the posts on the PiBo site each day. There’s some great advice there. You may want to check it out even if you didn’t sign up for the challenge.

~ take 1-2 photo walks per month

~ paint 1x per month

~ add decorative touches as we redecorate each room

Fitness Goals

~ walk 15-30 minutes each weekday morning; walk with my hubby 3+ times per week; do resistance training 3x per week

Cleaning the church is my only exercise at this point.

~ eat well 5-6 days per week

I’m eating less and making better choices when eating out. Yay!

~ drink more water (incl. caffeine free herbal teas)

As the weather turns cold, I will get my water by drinking caffeine-free herbal teas. 

Happy Thanksgiving to my American friends!

9 thoughts on “More Than a ROW80 Check-In

  1. I love Christmas! I’m a total Christmas nut. Your first 2 memories are similar to mine. Being a Southerner, snow is just a nice dream. My fondest memories, beyond family gatherings, is the tree. We had a 12 foot arched ceiling in my childhood home. My parents would go to the tree lot and pick out a monster 12ft tree. He’s trim the bottom to make it fit. They were usually Frasier Firs and gorgeous. He’d have to use a ladder and broom to get decorations on the top. After it was decorated and lit, I’d squirm under the limbs and look up the tree. It was my favorite place to rest during the Christmas season.

  2. Wow, you have a lot going on! And it looks like you’re doing well on your goals.

    I LOVE Christmas. I’m already driving my boss crazy playing Christmas songs in my office. LOL. I wish it snowed more here. Every once in awhile, we’ll get a really good snow. Lately, that’s been happening about once a year. We had a “blizzard” in 1993, and everyone went nuts. It had never happened in my lifetime. I loved it except the part where everyone’s power was off several days. I had never seen so much snow in my life. It was so much fun!

    Christmas always reminds me of my best friend who passed away in 2011. She loved Christmas, and I really miss her this time of year. I have so many fond memories.

  3. I used to love making crafts and ornaments for Christmas and decorating. I don’t do quite so much now that the kids are all grown and…I have to clean it all up afterward. 😉 My kids favourite tradition that I started with them when they were really little was making gingerbread houses. I cooked enough pieces so they could each build their own and we’d build extras to share with neighbours and grandparents.

    My favourite part of Christmas is the music, especially the Christmas Eve Candlelight service we attend. Your post brought back fond memories of building snowmen with my dad and choosing too large Christmas trees. LOL

  4. Great winter pictures!We don’t have any winter here yet. It’s been unseasonably warm. We didn’t even pull out the tomatoes until the middle of November!

    Good luck with your goals. 🙂

Leave a Reply

