Can You Believe December is Half Over?

It’s beginning to look a lot like … springtime?

Instead of this …

IMG_9242

… it looks more like this …

IMG_9735

Well, granted, the leaves have fallen, but other than that …

So how about you? Are you dreaming of a white Christmas or do you prefer milder temperatures? I admit I love the way the snow looks, but the warmer weather sure makes getting around a lot easier.

For those of you who are new here … WELCOME! Plus, I just wanted to tell you that I have been participating in A Round of Words in 80 Days for some time. If you are not part of this accountability group, the following list of goals may be of no interest to you and that’s absolutely fine by me. 

ROW Logo

Scheduling Goal

*NEW

~ complete one paying task, one volunteer task, and one additional task per day Monday through Friday

Editing Goals

~ keep up with my clients’ work

I am uber happy. I was able to edit four chapters on Friday … four. If I can keep up this pace, I’ll get one manuscript done in no time. 

Writing Goals

~ write a book proposal for Deb Willows’ second book

I need to do some tweaking to include this in my schedule 2-3 times per week.

~ prep at least one ebook for publication early 2016 (This will involve more tweaking, assembly, and proofreading than actual writing.)

Let’s call this a goal for Round 1 of ROW80 2016.

~ five three devotionals per week for HopeStreamRadio

I miscalculated. So, actually, I’m ahead of schedule. Woohoo!

~ write two one book review per month for HopeStreamRadio

I really must get a review written this coming week.

~ weekly posts for my website

I’m developing a new schedule for my blog and will choose my fave post from the week to re-post on my website each Friday. January seems like a good month to get back on track.

~ guest posts for Christian Editing Services, Kimberley Payne, InScribe, Janet SketchleyInScribe Professional Blog, and some new connections I’ve made through COMPEL

Maybe it’s time to stockpile some posts, perhaps set aside a day and just write, write, write.

~ write bonus materials for those who sign up for the quarterly newsletter I hope to send out starting in January 2016.

This week it’s my goal to write one or two more pieces to offer as bonus material.

*NEW

~ time to develop a template for said newsletter

Researching Goal

Research info for Deb Willows’ second book and info on self-publishing the five six ebook ideas I have chasing each other around in my brain.

This needs to go in my planner … IN INK!

Learning Goals

COMPEL Training

I thought of backing off, but I couldn’t. Listening to a recorded teaching is a highlight of my day. I can really connect to these, my fellow Christian writers. And now I’m part of a FB critique group with 15 other COMPEL members. So cool!

Reading Goals

~ read for pleasure most days daily

I’ve agreed to be a beta reader and a critique partner. I must set aside time each day for these projects.

ROW80 Sponsor Goals

~ visit my ROW80 peeps once or twice per week

~ on track

Creativity Goals

Instead of playing Solitaire while listening to teachings online, I’ve been colouring. I haven’t been bitten by the bug like some others, but it does give me something to do instead of just sitting here.

Holiday Prep Goals

~ prepare main floor for Christmas decorating

I told my hubby he could leave up his Department 56 Dickens’ Village for a month after he got it out. Otherwise, there wouldn’t be much sense to putting it up.

Fitness Goals

I exercised on Friday. I exercised on Friday. Let the bells ring out!

*NEW

UP AND COMING OPPORTUNITIES

I have a doula client expecting early in the new year and I’m meeting with another potential client on Monday morning. They both contacted me though I haven’t been actively looking for clients. Loving it!

My hubby and I will be helping with children’s ministry come January.

I would love to host a ladies’ book study of Shaunti Feldhahn’s The Life Ready Woman: Thriving in a Do-It-All World.

Does anyone see the irony in that like I just did? Tee hee!

NOTE! There will be some serious rearranging and setting aside of some of these goals if I am hired to fill in for our church administrator while she’s on mat leave. When asked during the interview, “What is one of your shortcomings?” I said, “Overcommitting.” <giggle, giggle, snort>

How about you? Are you a single-minded, focused individual or like the title of Barbra Sher’s book, do you “refuse to choose”?

6 thoughts on “Can You Believe December is Half Over?

  1. I have a lot of issues with over committing myself. Must do All The Things for All the People and well….it doesn’t work too well. Something to work on in 2016.

    You made a TON of progress! Awesome!

    1. Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment, Erin.

      I have a feeling I’ll always be eclectically involved, but it’s a matter of focusing on the project at hand. I’m learning to do so … slowly. 🙂

      I’m considering sending out a quarterly newsletter. The big challenge: deciding on my target audience.

      Have a great week!

  2. I’m loving that there’s no snow or I should say I’m loving the warm weather.
    Ah, so you’re coloring. I hope you’ll download my free coloring pages for when you listen to your online lessons.
    And have a very Merry Christmas, Steph. 🙂

    1. I don’t feel all that Christmasy, but I do enjoy the weather. And it makes traveling far easier.
      I’ll have to check out your colouring pages, my friend. Very cool!
      Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment..
      Have a wonderful Christmas season.

  3. Ah, over-committing! Isn’t that how we get things done? I do find myself able to say ‘no’ — but that’s a relatively new skill. If we’re willing to readjust our goals, then why not go for the ‘big dream’. ROW80 helps us stay accountable and yet flexible. The biggest lesson I’ve learned so far from being a part of ROW80 is to prioritize and notice which ‘goals’ slide to the bottom of the list. At least I can look at them then and say this can be postponed or that is simply off the list — for now. Cheers to you for mentioning making a template for that quarterly newsletter. I sent a newsletter twice last year. A template would make the whole process easier! May the rest of 2015 be very, very good for you!

Leave a Reply

