January 10 ROW80 Check-In

Week One of 2016 has come to a close. Here’s how things are shaping up in my little corner of creation.

Lady Reading

*NEW

Celebration Goal

I want to celebrate one thing each week.

This week I want to say, “Thank You, God, for an incredible first midweek session of AWANA.” I am going to love working with these kids who are in Grades 3-5. And what an amazing group of leaders! It blows me away.

Spiritual Goals

Digging into God’s Word and spending time in prayer daily are at the top of my list.

I am listening to Francis Chan’s teaching on the book of James on RightNow Media. It’s fantastic.

Inkwell

Writing Goals

~ three devotionals per week for HopeStreamRadio

By January 17, I hope to be on schedule.

~ one book review per month for HSR

I have yet to write January’s review, but hopefully, I will do so this coming week.

~ Deb’s book proposal (to be completed by mid-February at the latest)

The plan is to make a significant amount of headway by January 15.

~ posts for this blog and my website

I’m getting into the habit of scheduling my posts on Sunday for the coming week. 

~ guest posts for Christian Editing Services, Kimberley Payne, InScribe, Janet Sketchley, and the InScribe Professional Blog

I’ve backed off ever so slightly on my commitments to other bloggers, but this is still one of my favourite writing endeavours.

Keyboarding 2

Editing Goals

~ keep up with my current projects

I’m motoring along but still want to invest even more time, especially since I’m beginning a 30-hour per week position as our church administrator come March.

Training

Skills Development Goals

~ listen to at least one COMPEL Training podcast each weekday

Come the end of the week (if not before), I will have listened to all the podcasts. I will then begin checking into the various forums.

~ participate in the COMPEL FB group (Check out the Friday Five posts on Mrs. Disciple’s blog.)

This is one of my favourite FB groups of all time. I enjoy the opportunity to encourage others … and receive encouragement as well.

Book and Lilacs

Reading Goals

~ read from fiction and nonfiction books Friday, Saturday, and Sunday

I am doing more reading every day of the week. Yay!

Meeting Online

ROW80 Sponsor Goals

~ visit my ROW80 peeps once or twice per week

I look forward to cheering you on, peeps.

Woman and Barbell

Fitness Goals

~ incorporate one new healthy habit per month

For this month and next, I plan to incorporate the program Fit for Faith by Kimberley Payne into my daily routine. I’m going to have to set a specific time to do so or I’ll just keep putting it off.

How are you doing with your goals for 2016?

 

9 thoughts on “January 10 ROW80 Check-In

  1. Sounds like you are getting along well. Good luck with your upcoming job! I bet it will be incredible. I really love that you celebrate something every week! Your post warmed my heart and I look forward to seeing how you do next week.

  2. I love your goal of celebrating something each week. What a wonderful idea! It is so easy to get bogged down in the negative, but there is always something good to be found in each day! God bless you and your goals!

  3. You’re motoring along, Steph! Good to see, and I love your graphics and your snow – we’ve been stingily blessed thus far this year, to the disappointment of a certain 11 year old I know…

    As for me – I have lots of goals, and I’m indulging myself with them. =) I’d love to get to a point where I could schedule the week’s posts all on one day – but I’m not there yet. Maybe in another year or two, as the children move closer to the age of independence…but, for now, I’m able to do so much more than I was two years ago, I’ve got no need to complain! =)

      1. We had a little, once. My poor daughter! Fortunately, we watched Jurassic World (her current favorite) a while ago.

        It is expected to get very cold here this week. Fortunately, we just had a delivery of kerosene for our main furnace, and I brought in a trunkload of firewood, so we’re all cozy and snug.

        Always sweet to visit you, Steph!

  4. What a lovely way to begin your blog — with celebration and spirituality! I also like how you’re separating out writing from editing (always hard for me as I’m really deep into the editing!). Finally, those fitness goals — how we struggle to achieve them at any stage. But even a baby step feels like success. Looks like 2016 will be a very good year for you.

Leave a Reply

