Snowdrifts by Tandy Balson

I am thrilled to welcome Tandy Balson to my blog today. Tandy finds God’s fingerprints in her day-to-day life and is a real inspiration to many.

Take it away, Tandy …Tandy Balson Front Cover

We woke up to blizzard conditions. The weather forecast had been telling us this was coming for the previous few days, but I refused to believe it until it actually happened. The snow, along with the high winds accompanying it, was creating immense snowdrifts. It was fascinating to see how the snow was being sculpted. The drifts on the driveway meant that I didn’t have to go anywhere, and I looked forward to a quiet day to relax and reflect.

Soon the house started to cool off and turning up the furnace didn’t help. It would come on and then go off again. The little bit of air that did come through was definitely not warm. My husband went outside to investigate and found a large snowdrift up against the side of the house, completely blocking the furnace vent. When the fresh air couldn’t be accessed, the furnace wouldn’t work properly. Soon he had it cleared off and heat returned to our home.

This was another reminder to me not to let things pile up in my life. When the wind blows, my pile of “stuff” causes a chill that makes everything and everyone around me uncomfortable. The warmth disappears and the only way to regain it is to clear away the drifts that caused the problem. Depending on the amount to be cleared, this can be a daunting task. I may not have the words or know how to pray for what is needed, but the Holy Spirit breathes fresh air and life into me. The Spirit interprets what is in my heart. God understands, and by coming to him in prayer daily, I can keep those drifts from forming.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit” (Romans 15:13 NIV).

*UPDATE: Tandy has generously offered to give iBook copies of Dragonflies, Snowdrifts & Spice Cake to the first five commenters. 

Tandy Balson

Tandy Balson is a mother, grandmother, friend, volunteer, and observer of life. She is the author of Inspirations From The Everyday and Dragonflies, Snowdrifts & Spice Cake. Tandy also blogs twice a week and is a sought-after inspirational speaker. Find out more at www.timewithtandy.com

Photo Credit: Sarah Grace Photography’

16 thoughts on “Snowdrifts by Tandy Balson

  1. A timely post, since we woke to lots of snow this morning 🙂

    Please don’t enter me in the draw, since I’ve already read the book, but I wanted to encourage anyone who hasn’t read it to leave a comment. Definitely an encouraging and inspiring read!

  2. sharonespeseth

    I appreciate your image of the drifts piling up, because I know exactly what you mean. How wonderful that we can ask the Holy Spirit to help us melt the drifts with his love or help us remove them through prayer.

  3. Perfect reflection for me, today, Tandy! Buses are cancelled. Hubby is dressed to the ears in toques and Snowmobile suit and is blowing out the driveway. Thanks for the reminder to blow away the ‘drifts’ in my own life. I am exceptionally good at accumulating but need a swift kick to remind me to clean up once in a while. Thanks for the loving ‘kick’. God is good.

Leave a Reply

