February 21 ROW Check-In

Lady Reading

Scriptural Motivation for the Week

~ share a verse or brief passage with readers each Sunday

Our pastor has been preaching through the book of 1 John. The following is such a wonderful passage from 1 John 4:7-12:

“Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love. In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God; if we love one another, God abides in us and his love is perfected in us.”

Procrastination Goals

There are several things I put off doing for one reason or another. Each week I plan to accomplish 1-3 of these goals.

I changed the bedding in my guinea pig’s cage. It wasn’t bad (thank you, Care Fresh), but it was definitely time. Plus, I cleared off (more or less) the table in the front room. (I would call it the dining room, but we only dine there on holidays and when we have company.)

Personal Growth Goals

Listen to teaching or read something each week that will result in personal growth.

Because I started working in the church office this past week, I didn’t get around to this until Friday, but I did it. Hooray!

Celebration Goal

~ focus on one amazing thing that happened during the previous week

The pastors and music director … as well as some of my fellow congregants … made me most welcome in the church office. So nice!

Spiritual Goals

Digging into God’s Word and spending time in prayer daily are at the top of my list.

I may have to get up a little earlier in the morning. If I leave this until after work, it’s far less likely to happen.

Inkwell

Writing Goals

~ three devotionals per week for HopeStreamRadio

The plan is to be on track before bed tonight (February 14 21).

~ one book review per every other month for HSR

February … done!

~ Deb’s book proposal (to be completed by mid the end of February at the latest)

I’m hoping to make serious headway this coming week. 

~ posts for this blog and my website

If I could just set aside a few hours, I could get posts scheduled for a month or two. That would be good.

~ guest posts for Christian Editing Services, Kimberley Payne, InScribe, Janet Sketchley, and the InScribe Professional Blog

I was late posting to the InScribe pro blog but only by a day.

Keyboarding 2

Editing Goals

~ keep up with my current projects

I made some serious headway on Friday. I only did a little the rest of the week.

Training

Skills Development Goals

~ listen to at least one COMPEL Training podcast each week

This week I listened to the interview with author Susan Meissner.

~ participate in the COMPEL FB group (Check out the Friday Five posts on Mrs. Disciple’s blog.)

I look forward to receiving the next piece to critique. I also love connecting with these ladies. Too bad I can’t make it to the She Speaks conference this year and meet some of them in person. I had the privilege of guest posting on Catherine Gabrielsen’s blog this past week. 

Book and Lilacs

Reading Goals

~ read from fiction and nonfiction books Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Meeting Online

ROW80 Sponsor Goals

~ visit my ROW80 peeps once or twice per week

I plan to visit on Mondays and Thursdays, but some weeks I may not get around to visiting until Friday.

Woman and Barbell

Fitness Goals

~ incorporate one new healthy habit per month

I’m eating better and still cleaning the church, but I really should add resistance training to my schedule three times per week.

Have you accomplished a sixth of your New Year’s goals? (We’re almost a sixth of the way through 2016.)

6 thoughts on “February 21 ROW Check-In

  1. I always love reading your list of goals and what you have accomplished in the week – mostly finding the joy in being a child of God, something so many people take for granted.

    I can’t say that I am a sixth of the way through my list of goals for the year, but at least I have a start on most of them – okay, only on some of them. But it also may be time to reevaluate those goals for the year.

    Best wishes for a productive last full week of February.

  2. Wow, you’re doing so much better than me! But you inspire me, so maybe I can do better this week.

    I’ve always loved that passage from I John. Such a powerful message about love.

    It’s interesting you mention Digging into God’s Word. Some of the ladies at church are doing a monthly study group called Digging Deep in God’s Word. It’s awesome. (If I’ve already told you that, forgive me. My brain is a bit addled lately.)

  3. Nice work this week. I’m not sure if I’m really on track or not. I should check that. I am doing well this round, though, which is good. 🙂 I can hardly believe that February is almost over!

Leave a Reply

