Last April Check-In

Bible and Journals

Scriptural Motivation for the Week

~ share a verse or brief passage with readers each Sunday

I’ve started to read Genesis again and look forward to focusing on portions that stand out to me this time through. 

As I was reading through chapter 3, a phrase from verse 6 hit me between the eyes (I love it when that happens). It says, “So when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was a delight to the eyes, and that the tree was to be desired to make one wise …”

Even as Christians, we chase after many things to make us wise rather than digging into the Bible. Hmm!

Goal setting is as easy as …

ABC

Celebration Goal

~ focus on one amazing thing that happened during the previous week

I got a client’s rush job done earlier than I thought I would. I celebrated by playing a game of Scrabble with my hubby (and won).

Editing Goals

~ keep up with my current projects

I’m looking forward to buckling down and making some significant progress in the next little while.

Fitness Goals

~ get to the gym 3-4 times per week and walk with my hubby 2+ time per week

“Get to the gym three times this week, Stephanie. Do you hear me?”

~ act as accountability partner for young friend who wants to lose weight

Loving our interactions online!

Personal Growth Goals

Listen to teaching or read something each week that will result in personal growth.

I’ve come to realize I have to take some downtime despite my commitments or the results won’t be pretty. Sometimes this means reading. Sometimes it means vegging. 

Procrastination Goals

There are several things I put off doing for one reason or another. Each week I plan to accomplish 1-3 of these goals.

I haven’t had a sister weekend in 55 years. Jan and I aren’t going to wait so long for the next one. (grin)

Reading Goals

~ read something not related to work every day

I think reading is going to fill a significant amount of my aforementioned “downtime.”

ROW80 Sponsor Goals

~ visit my ROW80 peeps once a week

I will probably only be able to do so once per week.

Skills Development Goals

~ listen to one Compel Training podcast each week

Thursday’s teaching was very encouraging … and challenging.

~ participate in the Compel FB group

I’m working on another critique this week.

Spiritual Goals

~ dig into God’s Word and spend time in prayer daily

I treated myself to a new Bible as a birthday present to me. 

Writing Goals

~ three devotionals per week for HopeStreamRadio

I only wrote two in time for this past week, but I hope to write a significant number while I’m on the writers’ retreat later this week.

~ one book review per quarter for HSR

More reading = more reviews

~ Deb’s book proposal (to be completed by the end of April May)

We can do this, “Lord willin’ and the crik don’t rise.”

~ posts for this blog and my website

I’m thinking of dropping my website. It’s time for renewal and I don’t know that I can justify the cost. But do I want to start from scratch again? Decisions. Decisions.

Just before this post went live I made the decision to renew for another three years. Here goes nothin’!

~ guest posts for Christian Editing Services, Kimberley Payne, InScribe, Janet Sketchley, and the InScribe Professional Blog

Writing … one day.

2 thoughts on “Last April Check-In

  1. The list is long but heartfelt, reflecting a busy life and commitment to writing. What thoughts and progress resonate for me are all part of that quest for balance. May the coming week be a good one.

Leave a Reply

