A Fool & His Monet

A Fool and His MonetSandra Orchard’s best book to date. Seriously!

How do you write a lighthearted yet engaging and surprising mystery? I don’t know the answer, but Sandra does. Kudos!

Art theft. Murder. Blackmail. The mob. Authentic characters. Family dinners. And just a hint of romance. You’ll find it all within the pages of A Fool & His Monet.

Award-winning author Susan May Warren calls it “laugh out loud funny” and mystery author Lorena McCourtney advises readers to “be ready for a mind-spinning adventure.” I second both of these observations.

Comments like “Another agent scooped the Kandinsky from behind the newly aerated desk” put a smile on my face and gave me a glimpse of Special Agent Serena Jones’s personality. Why? Because she is the point-of-view character and the desk had been “aerated” by a volley of bullets.

As you can see, Serena has a unique, almost whimsical perspective, but she also has a serious side. She became an FBI agent in order to hunt down her grandfather’s killer. (No spoilers here. Readers find this out on the back of the book.)

I don’t know how the author has created a believable story with authentic, “everyday” characters, including a competent female agent whom I would feel comfortable sitting across the table from at a coffee shop—unless, of course, I was an art thief.

And seriously—Aunt Martha … Everyone needs an Aunt Martha. (Sure hope she turns up in Book 2. Another Day, Another Dali is scheduled to be released this fall.)

Patricia Bradley says, “Readers … will devour this book and want more.” And that is certainly the case for me. I am so looking forward to the next Serena Jones Mystery.

Before I sign off, I’d like to share this excerpt from A Fool & His Monet:

“Baldy edged toward the still-closed door, his gun leveled at me … Okay, okay.

“Okay, okay. Okay! Deep breath. I was still in the game and I couldn’t mess this up. Not when the undercover agent who’d reeled in this guy and passed me off as his art authenticator had balked at my suggestion that SWAT take me down with the crooks. I could do this. I had to. I’d finally made the FBI Art Crime Team. But if I hadn’t been the only available agent who could reliably distinguish a real Kandinsky from a fake, they never would’ve brought me in.

“And they’d never use me again if I freaked out over a little setback.”

I encourage you to pick up a copy of A Fool & His Monet. It makes a great summer read.

Visit Sandra Orchard’s website for information on this and her other mysteries.

Revell sent me a copy of A Fool & His Monet in exchange for this review. (Thank you, Revell.)

Leave a Reply

