A New Start

Change

This past week I chose a new profile picture. (Thanks to Belinda Burston for snapping this shot of Brenda J. Wood and me at Write Canada.) I also chose a new tagline, “To Nurture & Inspire.” I’m excited about the prospects.

And here we are on Day 1 of Round 3 of A Round of Words in 80 Days.

How does my new tagline apply to this new round?

Here are my goals …

To Nurture & Inspire @ My Computer

Whether editing my clients’ work or writing devotionals and blog posts … whether Skyping or connecting on Facebook and Twitter … I will ask myself how I can be a blessing to each one.

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds” (Hebrews 10:24 NIV).

To Nurture & Inspire in My Home

Hometending, as Shan Jeniah calls it, must move w-a-y up on my list of priorities. It is my desire to bless family and friends by creating a beautiful atmosphere. Currently, things look as if the bomb squad didn’t make it in time (grin).

“An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. … She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness” (Proverbs 31:10; 27 ESV).

To Nurture & Inspire in My Community

Each week I interact with dozens of people in person and many more online. As an extrovert, it’s far too easy to make it about me instead of considering how I can bless others—sometimes with my words and sometimes with my silence (gasp).

“… let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger” (James 1:19 ESV).

Preparing to Nurture & Inspire

I must tend to my physical, emotional, and spiritual needs if I am to reach out to others.

Therefore, I must …

Exercise more

Eat better

Get enough sleep

Listen to uplifting, inspirational music

Read fiction and nonfiction

Pray

Study the Scriptures

After all, as TobyMac says, “This is Not a Test.”

How about you? Have you identified your tagline, the theme of your writng—the theme of your life?

2 thoughts on “A New Start

  1. Heather Joyes.

    Yes, yes, great tag, you do nurture and inspire others. May He continue to do the same for you. Blessings. ❤

Leave a Reply

