In Search of Motivation

Oh, I have lots of motivation … on paper. Just take a look at my newest To Do List titled “Do It Already.” But I’ve been weary. In fact, I spent much of Friday sleeping. The heat maybe? (For all of you who live near the equator and are productive … KUDOS! I have no idea how you do it.)

I did get a fair amount done, including crossing some things off my Procrastination List (YAY!), and I got hooked on online teaching and audiobooks.

Although I don’t care for horror, Stephen King’s book On Writing is as one of the best on the subject, so say many industry professionals. I listened to the 7+-hour reading by King himself. He has a unique perspective on many areas of the craft of writing and I learned some new things. Plus, he shares much of his own story, and being relationship-driven, this drew me in. (If you’ve heard Stephen King give an interview, you won’t be surprised that the book includes some “language.”)

Have you listened to any good books lately?

Now here’s that Do It Already List I mentioned:

Spiritual Disciplines

~ begin & end each day with prayer; prayer journal 3-5x/week

~ study the Scriptures 5x/week (continue working my way through the book of Romans)

~ memorize Romans 12

~ work my way through Ted Dekker’s The Forgotten Way, choosing one truth & one scripture passage that “hits home” from each meditation

~ discuss a chapter from the Bible with Dave 3x/week

~ discuss Shaunti Feldhahn’s The Life Ready Woman with my daughter every week or two

Professional Disciplines

~ review changes Client #1 made to her manuscript (almost done with this one)

~ work on Client #2’s manuscript 5x/week

~ work with Client #3 as she’s able

~ begin edits for Clients #4 & # 5 when I receive their work

~ work on Deb’s book 3+ hours/week

~ clean the church 5 hours/week

Other Writing-Related Disciplines

~ write & upload 5 devotionals for HopeStreamRadio every week from now until the end of August

~ begin to post 2 additional posts here and 1 on my website each week

~ post on each InScribe blog at least 1x/month

~ guest post monthly on Christian Editing Services “This & That for Writers,” Kimberley Payne’s, and Janet Sketchley’s blogs

~ complete one module of my fiction-writing course per week

Physical Disciplines

~ get back into the ab challenge I’ve been doing with my accountability partner

~ exercise to a workout video 2-3x/week

~ get to the gym 1-3x/week

~ get 7 hours of sleep each night

~ plan & prepare healthy meals

~ limit sweet intake

~ increase water intake

Mental Health Disciplines

~ spend time with my hubby each day

~ read for pleasure 15-30 minutes/day

~ go for 2-4 photo walks/month

~ connect with family who live beyond the walls of my home 3-5x/week

Hometending Disciplines

~ clean, organize, & declutter 4+ hours/week

How about you? What do you do when you’re lacking motivation? 

4 thoughts on “In Search of Motivation

  1. That list for the coming week sets up goals so clearly. Using categories helps us divide and conquer. May you tackle those that nurture you! Re motivation, sometimes I think that when I need to go more slowly into any one category, it’s because I need to figure out why. As a listmaker too, I can get overwhelmed by too many things ahead. “One at a time” and “persevere” keeps me motivated, for as some tasks/goals are accomplished, new ones appear! Stepping back and looking at those categories also helps. Reading through your post reminds me I haven’t read this month’s Writers’ Digest! Have a very good week!

    1. I’m seeking to live in the Now … and have been doing a far better job of it this past week. For the most part, I’m quite content if I don’t get everything scratched off my To Do list. But occasionally, I do feel overwhelmed and under-motivated. Things are much better now. Thanks so much for stopping by, Beth. All the best with your goals for the week to come.

  2. I absolutely loved On Writing. That reminds me, I am due for a reread. 🙂

    I try to take things one step at a time or I get overwhelmed. You have a good organized list to follow which is really good (and half the battle). Good luck with it.

Leave a Reply

