Final Round 3 Check-In

And that’s a wrap on Round 3 of A Round of Words in 80 Days.

At the beginning of this round, I rebranded myself. My new tagline is “to nurture & inspire.” Let’s see how I did over the last three months.

These were my original goals and how I did …

To Nurture & Inspire @ My Computer

Whether editing my clients’ work or writing devotionals and blog posts … whether Skyping or connecting on Facebook and Twitter … I will ask myself how I can be a blessing to each one. Although this is my heart’s desire, I haven’t been as deliberate about it as I’d planned. 

“And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds” (Hebrews 10:24 NIV).

To Nurture & Inspire in My Home

Hometending, as Shan Jeniah calls it, must move w-a-y up on my list of priorities. It is my desire to bless family and friends by creating a beautiful atmosphere. Currently, things look as if the bomb squad didn’t make it in time (grin). Rejoicing in the small victories.

“An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. … She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness” (Proverbs 31:10; 27 ESV).

To Nurture & Inspire in My Community

Each week I interact with dozens of people in person and many more online. As an extrovert, it’s far too easy to make it about me instead of considering how I can bless others—sometimes with my words and sometimes with my silence (gasp). Comments my pastor made during my most recent performance review (I’m the church administrator) have challenged me to weigh how I can deliberately let others know I truly care about them. 

“… let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger” (James 1:19 ESV).

Preparing to Nurture & Inspire

I must tend to my physical, emotional, and spiritual needs if I am to reach out to others.

Therefore, I must …

Exercise more (must do more)

Eat better (Planning ahead is the key, and I haven’t started to do that yet.)

Get enough sleep (I’m doing fairly well in this area.)

Listen to uplifting, inspirational music (I do so regularly.)

Read fiction and nonfiction (I’ve been listening to more podcasts but would still like to read more.)

Pray (I must get back to journaling my prayers. It helps me stay focused.)

Study the Scriptures (Writing three or more devotionals per week helps in this area, but I want to do more.)

2 thoughts on “Final Round 3 Check-In

  1. Sometimes I don’t think it’s so much the goals we accomplish, but having our heads and our hearts in the right place when we set those goals in the first place. You did fantastic this Round, not by the goals you met but by the goals you kept in mind the entire time.

Leave a Reply

